

John Donne Society 37th Annual Conference Call for Papers

Thursday, 8 February, to Saturday, 10 February 2024

The Lod and Carol Cook Conference Center Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge, Louisiana

Individual papers on any aspect of Donne's life and work are welcome. During this decade of centennials, we also welcome papers on other 17th – century metaphysical poets, especially Herbert, Vaughan, Crashaw, and Marvell and on modern poets in dialogue with or working within or against the so-called metaphysical tradition.

FULL PAPERS PREFERRED; SUBSTANTIAL ABSTRACTS CONSIDERED. (maximum 8-10 pages, as an email .pdf attachment; please include your e-mail address, institutional affiliation, and mailing address in the body of the email submission). Each year the conference gives two awards, the John R. Roberts Award for Best Essay by a Graduate Student and the Kate Gartner Frost Award for Best Essay by an Early Career Scholar (i.e., within the first seven years after receiving his/her/their doctorate). Those interested must specify their interest in being considered.

ALL SUBMISSIONS MUST BE RECEIVED BY

31 October 2023

SEND THEM TO:

Professor Brent Nelson University of Saskatchewan <u>brent.nelson@usask.ca</u>

2023 OFFICERS

Sean H. McDowell, President Michael C. Schoenfeldt, First Vice President Meg Lota Brown, Second Vice President Lara Crowley, Secretary/Treasurer Brent Nelson, Acting Executive Director

For more information, please consult our website:

johndonnesociety.org

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

Kimberly Johnson (2018-2023)

Jesse Sharpe (2018-2023)

Kader Hegedüs (2018-2023)

Alison Knight (2018-2024)

Kirsten Stirling (2018-2024)

Marla Lunderberg (2023-2025)

Clarissa Chenovick (2023-2025)

Kyle Dase (2023-2025)

Tracy McLawhorn Hayes (ex-officio)