John Donne Society Newsletter

Volume 18, no. 2, Fall 2005

Dues Renewal Notice: If you have not renewed your membership for **2006**, now is the time to do so. Please send a check payable to the John Donne Society in the appropriate amount to:

Professor Helen B. Brooks Associate Director Interdisciplinary Studies in Humanities Bldg. 250/251-F Stanford University Stanford, CA 94305-2020

Phone: Office-650-723-0813 Home-650-328-5893 Email: hbrooks@stanford.edu

The dues are: Single, \$25; double, \$30; retired, \$15; student, \$15. Membership includes a one-year subscription to the *John Donne Journal*.

Invitation to the 21st John Donne Society Conference: The John Donne Society will hold its 21st annual conference on February 15-19, 2006 at the Lod & Carole Cook Conference Center & Hotel on the Louisiana State University campus in Baton Rouge. Enclosed is the registration form and information about lodging. Please check our new website for further details (http://johndonnesociety.tamu.edu).

MLA 2005 Special Sessions: The Donne Society will hold the following two special sessions at the MLA meeting in Washington, DC:

Graham Roebuck, "Donne and the Crises of His Times: Intellectual, Political, Religious." Ernest Sullivan, "Donne: An Open Session."

Look for the program details on our website and in the next Newsletter.

Call for MLA 2006 Special Session Papers: The Donne Society will sponsor two special sessions at the 2006 MLA meeting in Philadelphia:

- John Donne Society: "Amorous Delicacies: Donne and the Rhetoric of Sexuality." 8-11 page, 20 minute papers by 1 Mar., 2006 to Ilona Bell
- John Donne Society" "Donne: An Open Session." 8-11 page. 20 minute papers by 1 Mar. 2006 to Kate Frost

New Donne Society Web Page: For information about the Donne Society visit our new web page at **http://johndonnesociety.tamu.edu**. Many thanks to Syd Conner at Texas A & M for serving as our webmaster.

Donne at Kalamazoo: Kate Frost (Univ. of Texas-Austin) will organize a Donne session at Kalamazoo. Please contact her for more information and deadlines for papers.

Reminder: When you publish an article or book on Donne, inform the MLA Bibliography so that your work may be considered for the John Donne Society Award for Distinguished Publication in Donne Studies. In addition, some single authored texts that have a chapter on Donne, but not Donne's name in the title, may be overlooked by the MLA Bibliography. If you think this may be the case for your publication, please notify the chair of the Awards Committee (Ernest Sullivan) or Eugene R. Cunnar.

Send information for the **Newsletter** to Eugene R. Cunnar (e-mail: ecunnar@nmsu.edu)

2005 Officers and Executive Committee

Ilona Bell, President
Mary Papazian, First Vice-President
Theresa DiPasquale, Second Vice-President
Eugene R. Cunnar, Executive Director (email: ecunnar@nmsu.edu)
Helen Brooks, Secretary/Treasurer

Executive Committee:

Sean McDowell (2003-2005)
Achsah Guibbory (2003-2005)
Joan Faust (2003-2005)
Audell Sherburne (2004-2006)
Judith Anderson (2004-2006)
Kate Frost (2004-2006)
Greg Kneidel (2005-2007)
Margaret Maurer (2005-2007)
M. Thomas Hester (representing the *John Donne Journal*)
Gary Stringer (*ex-officio*)
Graham Roebuck (*ex-officio*)